Exhibition of the nominated artists for the BAZA 2022 Contemporary Art Award

Friday, 15 July 2022

Aaron Roth, Krasimira Butseva, Lars Nordby, Petar Chinovski, Sofia Grancharova, Harita Assumani and Yavor Kostadinov
July 19 – September 7, 2022, opening July 19, Tuesday, 6 p.m.

The International Network of Young Artists Awards (YVAA) was founded in 1990 and is one of the most enduring cultural exchange programs between the United States and Central and Eastern Europe.

The BAZA Award in Bulgaria is managed by the Institute of Contemporary Art - Sofia and the Edmond Demirjian Foundation, the Sofia City Art Gallery is a partner. ". From 2021, the Lachezar Tsotsorkov Foundation supports the nominated authors by financing their projects. Artists up to the age of 35 can participate in the competition. A jury with a two-year term nominates between four and eight participants. The exhibition of the selected authors is held at the SGHH. The winner is announced during the opening. The award is a two-month residency for an artist from Bulgaria in New York. The winners of the BAZA Award have the opportunity to present themselves with a solo exhibition in the gallery of the Institute of Contemporary Art - Sofia.

Winners of the BAZA award so far are: Rada Bukova (2008), Samuil Stoyanov (2009), Anton Terziev (2010), Vikenti Komitski (2011), Leda Ekimova (2012), Kiril Kuzmanov (2013), Zoran Georgiev (2014), Alexandra Chaushova (2015), Dimitar Shopov (2016), Martina Vacheva (2017), Martin Penev (2018), Valko Chobanov (2019), Maria Nalbantova (2020), Marta Jurina (2021). BAZA 2022 jury members are: Ani Vaseva (director), Krasimir Terziev (artist), Mariela Gemisheva (artist), Martina Yordanova (curator), Radoslav Mekhandzhiyski (curator), Lidiya Kudelia (curator, Ukraine/USA) , Gregor Jansen (curator, Germany).